Soy-Free Stirfry Sauce

If you or a loved one has been diagnosed with a food allergy, I’ll bet your family went through a time where you were like “OH EM GEE, HOW WILL WE EVER LIVE WITHOUT {insert food here}?!?!?”

When Logan was diagnosed with peanut, soy and dairy allergies, Brad’s first thought was of the pizza we’d be missing. Mine was of the Reese’s peanut butter cups Logan loved as a treat.

Then it hit me.

Oh my God. How would we get Logan to eat vegetables without stirfry?!?!

As a young toddler, Logan ate anything you’d put in front of him. Even raw onion (yes, Aunt Dena tried that one).

As he got older, his tastes inevitably got pickier. I’ve been told this happens (argh). But one meal remained constant – his love for stirfry.

So, I got to work finding a replacement for teriyaki sauce.

I found this recipe after much searching. I’d never heard of coconut aminos before but surprisingly, they were easily found at my grocery store, right by the teriyaki sauce.

So, I made the sauce. It was just ok – it was far too sweet for my liking – there’s quite a bit of sweeteners with the honey and the orange juice.

After tweaking the recipe to to our family’s liking, here’s what works best for us.

Soy-Free Stirfry Sauce

Yields sauce for one stirfry

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup coconut aminos (the brand I’ve found is Coconut Secret)
  • 1/4 cup of water
  • 1 tbsp rice wine vinegar (essential – DO NOT LEAVE THIS OUT!)
  • 2 tbsp honey (I used maple syrup once in a pinch)
  • 3 garlic cloves
  • 1/4 tsp ginger (you can also use fresh ginger, but I never have this at home)
  • Salt to taste (I do several twists of my Himalayan pink salt grinder because like I said, I like my sauce less sweet)
  • Optional: crushed red peppers to taste (I highly recommend, but I often leave out because of Logan)

Method:

Dump all ingredients in a small saucepan. Bring to boiling on medium-high heat. Reduce heat and simmer until sauce thickens. Pour generously over stirfry.


It looks just like teriyaki sauce, and it beautiful with those cloves of garlic, if I do say so myself.


He’s a tough critic, but he likes it so much that he omits the fork.

-KO

4 thoughts on “Soy-Free Stirfry Sauce

Leave a Reply

