We Are Our Children’s Advocates

Approximately 0.4% of children have a soy allergy. My son is one of the 0.4%. And, this is one of the more common allergens.

You may have heard of FALCPA – the Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act of 2004 – which stated that all companies had to label their foods if they were a major food allergen, or contained a protein of a major food allergen.

Which is awesome. But for some reason, the FDA also stated that companies did not have to label foods as containing soy if they contain soybean oil.

Why??

Soy in the form of soybean oil or soy lecithin has been highly processed. Researchers state that people with a soy allergy can typically eat foods that contain soybean oil or soy lecithin – without a reaction.

Yet foods that contain soy lecithin must be labeled as containing soy, whereas foods that contain soybean oil, do not.

Well, I’d like to make the argument that this is bullshit.

As a parent of a toddler with a soy allergy, I am grateful that the FDA has implemented this Act. But I am savvy enough to read labels and know what’s best for my child.

Not every parent has the same level of health literacy that I do. What if there child is reacting to soybean oil, but they don’t know the difference?


Today I went to pick up these pizza crusts. I buy them often.


Whoops. Logan’s been eating soybean oil. We avoid it.

I think, even if it’s not required, what about labeling it because it is ethical?

And, for comparisons sake… these crackers have soy lecithin… supposedly not harmful to those with a soy allergy, yet are labeled appropriately.


I am unsure how to make this change but it makes me angry. So I’ll end with this picture, because Logan and Grandpa are cute.


-KO

One thought on “We Are Our Children’s Advocates

Leave a Reply

