Coconut Oil Chocolate Chip Cookies

Today, I’m sharing a family favorite – coconut oil chocolate chip cookies. Once I started making these babies, we haven’t looked back.

But first, a quick update.

A few days ago, I wrote about my frustration about the lack of appropriate labeling on food labels for soybean oil and food allergies. You can see the post here.

To summarize, all foods that contain the “top 8” must be labeled as such on their food labels. According to the FDA, soy lecithin and soybean oil are both processed to the point where they are unlikely cause “issues” for soy allergy sufferers, yet foods containing soy lecithin must be labeled as an allergen, whereas foods containing soybean oil do not.

Which to me, is silly, and perhaps negligent. I’m not a food scientist or a doctor but I am a parent with a child with a food allergy and I appreciate knowing if our foods contain soy – even if the food is processed to the point it may or may not cause an “issue.”

So, I got this email from Mama Mary’s:


Which leaves me wondering – if this so-called soybean oil has been this processed, is it really still soybean oil?

Thanks, this reinforces my point!

Anyway – on to the recipe!

I was provided with Coconut Secret Raw Extra Virgin Alive Coconut Oil for this recipe.


Here’s a couple pictures of their label. Their coconut oil is amazing – it contains medium chain triglycerides (MCTs), which may help regulate blood sugar control.


Here’s the recipe!

Coconut Oil Chocolate Chip Cookies

Yields 18 cookies, preheat oven to 350 degrees

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 cups flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder 
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup Coconut Secret Raw Extra Virgin Alive Coconut Oil, melted
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup white sugar (more if needed)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • Chocolate chips
  • Milk of choice

Method

  1. In a stand mixer if available, cream together flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt and coconut oil.
  2. Add sugars, eggs, and vanilla.
  3. Your mixture is probably going to look like the picture below. Using a tablespoon, add milk one spoon at a time. I use cashew milk because it’s what Logan drinks, but my mother cow’s milk – same results. I end up using 2-3 tablespoons.
  4. Once the mixture looks like the picture below, add chocolate chips. I use Enjoy Life because they are dairy free. I also don’t measure the chocolate chips – I pour from the bag while it’s mixing until it looks “just right.”
  5. I am a taste tester. Of course, you should NOT do this because there is raw egg in the batter. If you do, and you find that it is not quite sweet enough, add an additional 1/4 cup of white sugar to the batter.
  6. Spray cookie sheets with cooking spray. Place rounded teaspoons of batter on cookie sheets and bake for 7-9 minutes.
  7. Remove from oven, then let sit on cookie sheets for 2 minutes. The edges will look nice and brown, and the middle may look undercooked. Resist the urge to put them back in the oven. The last 2 minutes on the cookie sheet, on the stove top, will finish cooking them!
  8. After 2 minutes, remove from cookie sheets and place on wire baking racks to cool.
  9. Enjoy.


Tips: I have also used half chocolate chips and half white chocolate chips, as well as used peanut butter chips. I have also used Reese’s Pieces. My mother has added nuts to her cookies. The recipe is easily doubled and tripled.

And because I tried so hard to make these cookies using Coconut Secret’s Coconut Flour as well, here’s a pic of my failed attempt:


They tasted ok, but were not aesthetically pleasing. Try as I might, I could not get the recipe just right. So, you’ll get a bonus recipe next week with the coconut flour – I’ve been working on a coconut stirfry sauce that is a peanut sauce copycat. Keep your eyes open!

Our take on Coconut Secret’s Coconut Oil? It’s awesome! Our cookies turned out soft and delicious and I can’t wait to use it for other recipes.

Have a great day, and let me know how you like the cookies!

Note: Coconut Secret Raw Extra Virgin Coconut Oil was provided to me for use for my blog but my opinions are my own.

-KO

One thought on “Coconut Oil Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

