Sunbutter Chocolate Chip Cookies

You may have noticed by now… we have a serious sweet tooth in our house.

And while I try hard to get Logan to eat fruits and vegetables, my goal also is to modify his favorite foods. And my favorite foods.

Logan loves chocolate chip cookies. And I love peanut butter cookies. And when they meet, it is heavenly.

Most of the recipes I've posted are my own creation. Today's recipe is a modification of Wallflour Girl's Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies. Although I cook and bake a lot, I am still a fledgling baker and couldn't come up with this caliber of a recipe on my own – so, I made modifications to suit our purposes.

The original recipe is a winner. And so is this one.

This recipe is sponsored courtesy of Sunbutter; they sent me several jars of their lovely sunflower seed butters to use for recipes (and to eat, of course!) For this recipe, we used the Creamy version, but I'd bet that the Crunchy would be awesome too.

Sunbutter Chocolate Chip Cookies
Yields about 20 Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup Sunbutter, variety of your choosing
  • 1/2 cup butter, melted; I use real butter but you can use margarine or vegan butter, depending on your needs
  • 1 tsp vanilla (original recipe calls for 1 tbsp but I misread it and I think 1 tsp works just fine!)
  • 1 3/4 cups flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 cup Enjoy Life chocolate chips (I use these because they are free of Logan's allergens)

Method:

  1. In a large bowl or Kitchenaid stand mixer, cream together egg, brown sugar, Sunbutter, butter and vanilla. I mixed these ingredients for a full 5 minutes until they were super creamy.
  2. Add in baking soda, flour, and salt until fully combined.
  3. Add chocolate chips.
  4. Cover bowl and refrigerate for 1-2 hours before baking.
  5. Preheat oven to 350 degrees; grease cookie sheets then use ice cream scoop to place cookies on cookie sheets, about 2 inches apart. Cookies should be taller than they are wide.
  6. Bake for 8-10 minutes; centers of cookies will look underdone. Let sit on cookie sheet for an additional 10 minutes.
  7. Voila! Enjoy your cookies!


Before refrigerating the dough, you'll want to sample it. Yes, I'll caution against it. It has raw egg. I may or may not have sampled it. It may or may not be awesome.


On the cookie sheet, they should look like this. Nice, rounded balls of cookie dough deliciousness.


And when they're done… Sunbutter Chocolate Chip Cookies!!

But a word to the wise… make sure you mix the chocolate chips in to the batter very well. Although the cookies will still taste exceptionally good, they make look like this:

Let me know what you think of this recipe!

-KO

2 thoughts on “Sunbutter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

